OVERLAND PARK, KA --- University of Maine-Presque Isle center Patrick Manifold, who led the Owls in scoring and rebounding, headlines the 2013 All-Independent Men's Basketball teams announced today by the Association of Division III Independents.    


Manifold, a 6' 8" senior from Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom, averaged 17.7 points and 8.9 rebounds per game and helped Presque Isle improve by eight wins from last season.  He finished his career with 1,351 points.    

Joining Manifold on the first team are David Louison, St. Joseph's College (Brooklyn); Eric Jackson, Nebraska Wesleyan University; Michael Megafu, St. Joseph's College (Brooklyn); Claude Louis, University of Maine-Presque Isle; and Michael Warner, University of Maine-Presque Isle.

Second-year St. Joseph's College (Brooklyn) head coach Joe Cocozello, who led the Bears to a 16-13 record, was selected as the coach of the year for the second consecutive year.  The coaches selected St. Joseph's College (Brooklyn) freshman guard/forward Michael Megafu as the rookie of the year.  Megafu averaged 12.1 points and 11 rebounds per game.

The All-Independent Men's Basketball teams were selected by the men's basketball coaches from AD3I member schools.


2013 ALL-INDEPENDENT MEN'S BASKETBALL TEAMPatrick Manifold, University of Maine-Presque Isle PLAYER OF THE YEAR:Michael Megafu, St. Joseph's College (Brooklyn) ROOKIE OF THE YEAR:Joe Cocozello, St. Joseph's College (Brooklyn) COACH OF THE YEAR:   

FIRST TEAM ALL-INDEPENDENTHOMETOWNPOSYEARSCHOOLNAMEGreat Yarmouth, UKCSRUniversity of Maine-Presque IslePatrick ManifoldBrooklyn, NYFSOSt. Joseph's College (Brooklyn)David LouisonLincoln, NEGJRNebraska Wesleyan UniversityEric JacksonBrooklyn, NYG-FFRSt. Joseph's College (Brooklyn)Michael MegafuUnion, NJGJRUniversity of Maine-Presque IsleClaude LouisNorwich, UKG-FJRUniversity of Maine-Presque IsleMichael Warner


NAMESCHOOLYEARPOSHOMETOWNSacramento, CAFSO University of California, Santa CruzJames Townsend Lincoln, NEFJRNebraska Wesleyan UniversityTrevor JohnsonBedford, IAF-CJRNebraska Wesleyan UniversityTim SchweitzerBrooklyn, NYGFSt. Joseph's College (Brooklyn)Matt O'NeillWoodside, NYG-FSRSt. Joseph's College (Brooklyn)Jan RagowskiEcorse, MIFSRFinlandia UniversityJonathan Moore

The Association of Division III Independents consists of 10 NCAA Division III independent institutions that have joined together to recognize student-athletes at independent institutions, and to provide exempted postseason championship competition in 2012-13.  The Association recognizes outstanding athletic achievements of its student-athletes on a weekly, monthly and annual basis.  The Association provides statistical services for its members in seven sports.  In addition, it also will announce All-Independent teams at the conclusion of eight other sports this year. 

More information about the Association of Division III Independents is available at